Author Topic: Surfing 101: Revisiting the Pop-Up  (Read 12044 times)

Offline Jack Crank

• Local (Gold)
  • Liked: 25
  • Soft hated: 4
  • Mac OS X 10.5.8 Mac OS X 10.5.8
  • Browser:
  • Safari 4.0.4 Safari 4.0.4
    • View Profile
    • No Gods, No Vegetables
    • Email
Re: Surfing 101: Revisiting the Pop-Up
« Reply #15 on: February 08, 2010, 04:10:04 PM »
  • Go Up
  • Go Down
  • I just started practicing popups at home last friday and even 1 night made a big difference in my surfing over the weekend.  I also some of them (you know, for added creepiness factor) so I could see exactly where my weak points were.  I'm definitely going to keep doing this (30-50 a day hopefully) and things should hopefully keep improving.

Things I specifically work on when practicing are:
    - Landing with flat feet in the right place on the board.
    - Landing with both feet at the same time
    - Already looking where I'm going when I land
    - Having my hands/arms in the right place when I land.

I noticed on film that my upper body was dragging compared to my feet so I really worked on landing with good hand position and it made it a lot easier to get that first pump in.

Offline SeaCliff

• Administrator
    • Local Hero (Platinum)
    • Liked: 776
    • Soft hated: 35
    • Captain GoodVibes
    • Mac OS X 10.5 Mac OS X 10.5
    • Browser:
    • Firefox 3.5.7 Firefox 3.5.7
      • AOL Instant Messenger - SurfRxNY
      • Yahoo Instant Messenger - surfrxny
      • View Profile
      • NYNJSurf.com: Surf Information for LI and the Jersey Shore...
      • Email
    « Reply #16 on: February 08, 2010, 04:21:20 PM »
  • Go Up
  • Go Down