Author Topic: Choosing a fin box setup  (Read 1731 times)

Online jeffbhall

• Regular (Silver)
  • Liked: 25
  • Soft hated: 0
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 32.0 Firefox 32.0
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
    • Email
Choosing a fin box setup
« on: September 29, 2014, 05:51:02 PM »
  • Go Up
  • Go Down
  • I learned to surf on a single fin longboard.  I stepped down to a 7'8 thruster and a 7'3 quad funboard.  I have had tons of fun on all of them.  I really like the differences in the feel, drive and bite of the single fin, thruster and quad setups and I am just beginning to think about trying out some other setups and other board options. 

I don't feel like I want to settle on any particular fin setup just yet; at this point I feel like I don't have enough experience to stop playing around and settle just yet.  My dilemma is that I am planning to invest real money in my first real quiver of 2 or 3 boards and I am having a hard time settling on a fin cluster/setup.

Is there a fin box cluster that will let me configure a board as either a thruster, quad, quad+nub, or just a single fin?  Or is it either a fifth nub-box or a stand alone single fin box, but not both in the same cluster?  I guess my real question is this; what is the most versatile fin cluster that I could put on any particular board? I don't want to lay out serious money on two or three boards only to be limited by their fin setups.  Any advice would be helpful. 

Offline Mayday

• Local Hero (Platinum)
    • Liked: 108
    • Soft hated: 3
      • View Profile
      • Email
    Re: Choosing a fin box setup
    « Reply #1 on: September 29, 2014, 06:31:56 PM »
  • Go Up
  • Go Down
  • You can do a five fin setup with the middle being a longboard fin box, and then buy the insert to make it thruster fin compatible.