NYNJSurf.com Forums - Surfing NY NJ! New Jersey Surf and New York Surf Message Board Community Forums

Back on Dry Land => Team DeskRider Headquarters - for the working NY and NJ Surfer! => Topic started by: Dan S on December 24, 2011, 12:02:05 PM

Title: Best Career Path for Surfer
Post by: Dan S on December 24, 2011, 12:02:05 PM
To become a suit and work the 9-5 grind you have to give up a lot in terms of your ability to be flexible and surf.  What do you think the best career choices for a surfer would be that gives them financial security and time flexibilty to allow us free spirits to be free and surf when we want.

I for one did the 9-5 grind and went back to serving tables 20 hours a week for cash and health benefits, and I am a freelance programmer / web designer / database admin.  Although I wish I made slightly more money, I am able to hit the surf almost whenever it is good and drop anything on a whim.  And I can take as many vacation days as I want because I have no real set hours.

Lets see some suggestions for other surf-friendly careers.
Title: Re: Best Career Path for Surfer
Post by: waveslider on December 25, 2011, 11:33:47 PM
cop or fireman
Post by: Crackie Onassis on December 26, 2011, 11:04:36 AM
Clean energy:
Hawaii has an 80% renewable portfolio mandate set for 2030, which means 20% fossil fuels with the balance of power generated by wind, solar, geo and wave power. Then there is smart grid (scaling power demand & supply via software) and fuel cells (collecting wind/wave power and delivering it into the grid). This industry is where the jobs are going to be for the balance of this century.

Investment Banking: